PE Recruiting in London

I am an incoming analyst at a Tier 1 EB in London and am wondering how I should approach PE recruiting in my first year. Do I start reaching out to HHs 3-4 months into the job or wait until they approach me? Also, how realistic is it to set my sights on MFs (BX, KKR, Carlyle)? I know PE recruiting in UK is not as structured as US, so there is no defined timeline and profiles that are widely known to be favoured upon by MFs. I also ran a LinkedIn search and it seems that EB analysts here place mostly into Upper MM and are not as common in MFs, unlike the US. What should I do?

I have met with most headhunters within nearly 12 months of starting my analyst stint. I would say that most were very surprised by such an early outreach when I told them I was only looking to move after 2 years of my program are over. PE recruitment in London is very ad-hoc in nature and unstructured even for the KKR, Blackstone, Carlyle and Bain type of firms so take your time and make contact at the end of your first year.

Difficult to pinpoint a typical profile but definitely language requirement is a must for a lot of funds. Given a kid between GS and BAML, funds would always pick BAML if he can speak an extra European language over the GS British one. It's probably more important than you realise at this stage.

From my experience of talking to headhunters and networking with PE people, outside GS/MS/JPM there is virtually no difference in exit opps as it is made out to be. I'm at Laz/Roths and I think the other US EBs compete quite well with us in sending kids to the buyside (traditional PE), even the ones usually bashed on this site like Greenhill.

If you want distressed investing, obviously go with RX shops, headhunters explicitly mention the top 3 being PJT/Laz/HL, or lev fin groups, notably JPM/CS.

HF takes people from all background so hard to say.

I’ll take the 3 you mentioned and answer on them.