Took the GMAT. 92nd percentile in verbal but 28th in math (600 total). How bad will this look to MBA programs?

retaking it is not really an option because 1) there's a rolling deadline and 2) i went up nearly 40% in verbal from what i normally score, i dropped down in math from my last test but can't see myself beating the overall score. i'm absolutely shocked it turned out this way but it is what it is.

my overall score isn't bad but the math really sticks out. so how screwed am i and is there any good way to explain this in the essay. i know if you're from a different country you can use that to compensate for low verbal but with math what can you do?

no i realize where 600 puts me my question was how much worse does my combination of getting the 600 in terms of 92nd in verbal and 28th quant look compared to say just getting 64th percentile for both quant and verbal. would something like rutgers be out of the question?

if it helps my background is i ran a pretty successful marketing business for 10 years, dealt with all types of clients. my undergrad gpa was 3.7. i'm going into a marketing concentration with my mba not finance or anything.

Are you sure you can't take it again? I'm sure you could get better than 28th percentile with a GMAT course. Or check out a review book that focuses on the math section. I bought Princeton Review Math Workout for the GMAT and it seems like a pretty good book. I think the biggest part of doing well on the math section is getting used to the specific trick questions the test uses.

Best Response