Most Helpful

This is so incredibly fucking stupid I don't even know where to begin. You think headhunters will rank these groups and recruit based off that? I'm sorry but I really doubt you have friends in real life chief

Controversial

No,..I don't think headhunters do that. I was just trying to get an updated take on an old thread that was pretty popular on this forum. I understand that it may be ignorant, but I'm just a college kid trying to gain more insight. I guess once I'm a 2nd year Analyst, I'll gain the wisdom that you have.

Your comment was very rude and extra. "Group rankings like these don't matter as headhunters are not going to recruit based off of them" would have been very helpful to know. Instead, you decided to blow of some steam on a forum like this and let some random stranger on WSO piss you off? Relax man.

Not sure why you felt so offended by my post to question whether I have friends in real life, but I apologize for offending you.

it’s not a force ranking per se....but it’s quite obvious that yes HHs look at the group you’re in first and foremost, because that is the single most important predictor of your getting interviews and potential success. they know which groups they can bank on guaranteed money and placements year after year, and then the strong alumni pipeline perpetuates itself when you’ve got 3 GS FIG people going to TPG every year then viola...the next year to also place 3-4 GS FIG kids in. it’s not rocket science. it’s a pretty simple concept and so yes it fucking matters what group you’re in. not a 1-20 force ranked placement that overarches everything generally, but you get looks at places in where your 2nd years go offers and so on and so forth.