What to do if my co-workers mess up and I get blamed?

So this happened a few times last summer where my co-workers messed up but then the boss corrected me on it even though I knew what I was doing and it was a co-worker who did that part or someone senior than me told me to do it an incorrect way. Do I just take the blame even though it hurts my reputation and wasn't my fault? I don't want to talk back or blame someone else but I feel my cred shouldn't suffer.

WSO Elite Modeling Package

• 6 courses to mastery: Excel, Financial Statement, LBO, M&A, Valuation and DCF
  • Elite instructors from top BB investment banks and private equity megafunds
  • Includes Company DB + Video Library Access (1 year)

Comments (12)

Jul 3, 2020 - 12:07am

Tell the truth from your end. You will be blamed if they think it is coming from your end. I am a top bucket analyst and got one below the highest bonus just because one of the Directors thought I screwed up in a major way but it was actually someone else's fault entirely!

Will update my computer soon and leave Incognito so I will disappear forever. How did I achieve Neanderthal by trolling? Some people are after me so need to close account for safety.
  • Analyst 2 in IB - Ind
Jul 3, 2020 - 12:21am

almost certain you didnt get top bucket cuz youre an annoying little prick who spends too much time on wso than turning comments

Jul 3, 2020 - 12:24am

You don't realize how efficient I can be. I go on this site to unload. And yes, I did not get top bucket. I missed it by a single drop of water because of this one internal workstream that cost me 5,000 dollars! I hate that person and have told my staffer to never work that person up agani.

Don't get me started on the top bucket mentality, analyst 2.

Will update my computer soon and leave Incognito so I will disappear forever. How did I achieve Neanderthal by trolling? Some people are after me so need to close account for safety.
Jul 3, 2020 - 1:05pm