What to do with a 640 GMAT ?

Palomafin's picture

Hi guys,

I'd appreciate some help in evaluating my profile. I would like to land a job in IBD, but it's pretty difficult if you come from french universities, this is why I am applying to top universities in Europe.

• Undergrad degree : Bsc in Business/Management at La Sorbonne University in Paris, GPA of 14/20 (2:1 equivalent I guess), good ranking (top 5%)
  • Just started my 1st year of Master (out of 2) in Financial Engineering.
  • GMAT : 630 and 640 last year
  • 3 month internship in a very small M&A boutique
  • Multicultural background (speak 4 languages + lived in many countries)

Got rejected last year at Bocconi for Msc Finance. I would like to apply this year to the following programmes :

• Bocconi : MiM and maybe MiF again
  • LSE : MiM or MiF, but I know they have other masters like Strategy, Private Equity (maybe less selective?)
  • ESSEC MiM : difficult to get in since I have a french undergrad degree

I will also try Imperial, Warwick, UCL since they do not require GMAT.

Do you guys think I have a chance in one of these programmes? I know I should retake the GMAT but I have 1-2 months left and I believe it's too short to improve my score.

Thanks a lot for your time!

Comments (4)

Sep 23, 2018

Hi Palomafin, any of these topics helpful:

• 2019 Internship #finance #recruiting #university #career ... DELETEXXCXXxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx #accounting ...
  • The Zero Stress Life? their own stress/quality of living? Thanks!!! #accounting #finance #recruiting #university #career ... program (nowhere near HYP, but Big 4 firms heavily recruit here). I'm an accounting major with ... two summers). I'm just curious, what is the best career path for me to achieve the best quality ..