Why the hate towards growth PE / sourcing (e.g. KKR Tech)?

Hello all,

I have been looking through some recent posts on KKR Tech and find it surprising that a lot of people view it negatively. Is it similar to a VC-type role?

I am new to the industry, so can someone tell me what are the negatives? What's wrong with sourcing deals - I thought a lot of the partners are actually young, which suggests you can climb the ladder relatively quickly?

If you know anyone in this type of role, can you describe what's expected of a junior? Do you need a lot of modeling skills like you would in traditional PE or are DD and people skills more helpful here?

Will not comment on traditional Growth PE vs. Growth PE at MF, but on Growth PE vs. MF Buyout as a junior, explaining some of the negative sentiment:

- Medium to heavy sourcing (cold email/call) at Growth, little to none in buyout

- Modelling is more complex for buyout transaction

- Larger comp gap between growth and buyout the more senior you get

- Possible to go from buyout to growth easily, not the other way around

On the other hand, positives for growth are:

- Trains your soft skill as a junior, which is probably the most indispensable quality in this industry

- Sector/Companies could be more interesting than what buyout PE look at

- Better W/L balance

Why is comp different at the senior level between buyout and growth? Assuming fund sizes are equal and headcount relatively equal, wouldn't comp be consistent if equal returns? 

Agree, however MF PE buyouts have naturally larger AUM than growth funds, scale is most often beneficial in the asset management industry. It's harder to scale growth: given the lower average ticket size, having a similar AUM would imply investing in more companies, therefore also requiring more FTEs, which would then bring down average comp/FTE.