WSO Weekly Wrap-Up (3/5-3/11)

In case you missed them, here're some of last week's most popular topics:

Never, ever, ever, give up.
Post By @Anon1254"

When I graduated and realized that I did not want to become a doctor (and that I wanted to break into Private Equity), I wondered how someone majoring in Biology was going to break into PE and Investments from the get go? I cold called firms near my area but my success rate was zilch; I neither received any email responses nor call backs. To pay for my bills, I worked part-time as a Pharmacy Technician while working full time at a "factory" type Pharmacy from 3:30 pm until 11:00 pm. One day when I was on vacation with my family, my friend gave me a call and told me that his operations department was looking for people.

Yes, You Are Having a Quarter Life Crisis (and it's ok)
Post By @itsanumbersgame"

When I was 17, I decided I wanted to be an investment banker. I was told that investment bankers had the money, the power, the girls, and were masters of their own universe. Here is a timeline of my Quarter Life Crisis ("QLC") and feel free to finish the story.

Surviving on $60k in NYC?
Post By @FTMan"

Is it possible to survive in NYC on this salary and which area of NYC should I be looking to stay in order to maximize my value and not have all of my money being tied up in rental payments?

Hedge Fund Interview Guide BETA is LIVE!
Post By @WallStreetOasis.com"

For those of you waiting on the WSO hedge fund interview Guide, thank you for your patience -- it has been a long process to get to this stage. We are releasing the beta version today to the first 30 buyers. GET IT HERE.

Random Thoughts on the HF Industry
Post By @BlueWing"

Every time I see an article about a HF or HF index underperforming the S&P 500, I want to throw something at my monitor. If your hedge fund provides consistent positive returns throughout a market cycle, you are getting your money's worth. Stop complaining about relative performance.