Sophomore 2024 Internships

Hey all, I’m a rising sophomore at a target school looking to go into either IB or HF. I’ve got a pretty solid gpa and resume, and have started “networking” with alumni and other folks in the industry, but I’m a bit lost as to how to go about securing an internship for next summer. I’ve applied to pretty much all the BB sophomore programs (i.e BofA, G.S, M.S) but assuming none of those workout, what else should I be doing or where else should I be looking for an internship next summer? Thanks!

A lot more low tier BBs and MMs open this fall. If you interview well you’ll be more than fine coming from diversity target background. If all of these fall through, which I would be surprised by but you never know, there’s a bunch of regional boutique investment banks and asset managers that take sophomore interns. I would also look at what people in your schools finance clubs did their sophomore years and start there. Either way though you’ll be fine for junior summer recruiting in spring being a diverse target, just know your technicals and behaviorals and be somewhat interesting in the interview process. Good luck

Sorry, misread. Unfortunately, yes, it’s just the state of the game. The vast, vast majority of BB and MM sophomore programs are either explicitly or covertly diversity only. I would start looking at boutiques and regional banks asap for sophomore summer. Being non-diverse means you’ll have to network significantly and be highly technically proficient to get looks from top banks for junior summer, even at a target, so just focus on that and get whatever finance-related internship you can that’ll tick the box for sophomore summer.

Quia saepe aperiam et. Et dignissimos a sed. Ad excepturi et dolorum voluptatem nihil non. Non et est magni blanditiis adipisci. Eligendi quod rem dignissimos est tenetur ab est.