SA 2015 Non-Target Resume Review. Tear it apart.

Hello monkeys,

I'm a junior at a non target, BA w/finance concentration major attending a non target state university. Trying to get SA at an IB firm for 2014. Wondering if y'all could take a look at my resume and give me some opinions. I have little finance experience so it's a bit intimidating but I'm trying my best. I want to experience higher finance. I would love to hear opinions on making me stand out as a professional in the eyes of the industry. Please tear it up and thanks again.

The formatting is very bad. What's going on with the horizontal lines? Use M&I/WSO template (I prefer M&I). Keep it conservative.

I also think you have way too many bullets - I need to be able to screen your resume in less than 30 seconds and right now I can't. Focus on the 2-3 experiences/projects that are most relevant for the job you're applying for and describe them in detail.

Do these two things (M&I/WSO template and cut down on bullets) and upload a new version.

I trimmed my resume significantly like you recommended, how is it so far?

I have two options under leadership and need to delete one.

One is volunteering at a non profit event and managing their auction and cash. The other is the VP of a business at club at a small college I previously had attended. Which is better?

Better. A few quick comments:

• Formatting needs to be perfect. Same margins to the right for everything, dates to be aligned to the right of the page, same spacing between paragraphs, consistent use of . after bullets etc. You should be able to see this yourself - otherwise you have bigger problems than your resume

• I would use the non-profit, the business club is a long time ago

• Explain what you actually did in the investment fund (did you build models? etc.) This doesn't tell me anything except that you "used research methods"

• Say ~25,000 to ~29,000 and recalculate the % gain (hint: it's about half)