Welcoming criticism (senior graduating June 2014, want to enter ER in Asia)

I'd appreciate it very much if anyone would take a look .

I am an Asian student in Asian country. I was lucky enough to land a SA at BB in 2012 but didn't get a return offer, with the official reason being that I was graduating in 2014 since I have to serve 1-year military conscription. Another side info is that target school in my country is not considered a target school in larger markets, or so I've heard.

I will be graduating in 2014 and applying to ER in hopefully HK/SG. If anyone would supply criticism on my resume I would be very much in your debt.

Thanks and regards.

EDIT (20130924):
main differences include:
1) Expanded on Bulge Bracket experience, added in 2 bullet (stock pitch, sector topic research)
2) Pulled up to sector level on Boutique technology team experience

Attachment Size
20130924_WSO.pdf 131.02 KB 131.02 KB

Best Response

Hello, I’d say from 30,000 feet that the resume looks good – or at least good enough to slide into an analyst role at a BB. What sector did you cover in the internship? I think your entire resume should revolve around this piece – maybe even consider moving the ‘work experience’ up. In order to stem the ignorance in HR, just give them what they are looking for immediately – that being equity research experience. I cover a technology subsector at a BB – if I were hiring I would look for the parallels between the resume and the sector of discussion. Otherwise, it looks good; keep you head up and keep networking.

Thank you for the advice SFTechUES. I was staffed on the consumer team for my SA. However, with our office transitioning and understaffed, I helped multiple teams and had a lot of requests coming from different sector teams.

With that being said, I will definitely try to clarify better what I did at the internship. Thanks again for the kind advice.