MBA to get into Banking/PE or make 200k/yr running my Amazon business?

I studied finance at a non target and had my first internship working on middle-market IB deals. I was unable to land an offer in banking and I hated the thought of working a mundane, back office job so I decided to start my own company.

I currently make 200k a year running my own Amazon business but I'm in my late 20's now and I still want to pursue a career in banking/PE. I'm thinking about getting my MBA to get recruited as an associate at a BB but idk if its worth the tradeoff. I would have to take a step back from managing/growing my business to start focusing on MBA prep and may have to drop it completely if I do get into BSchool.

Any advice would be appreciated!

Are you 100% that you need to shut everything down if you go to business school? Then again, if you can grow your business further, I am not sure you actually want to go work for someone else...

I'm talking about liquid. Rich enough to have your own jet. Rich enough not to waste time. Fifty, a hundred million dollars, buddy. A player. Or nothing. See my Blog & AMA

I think this depends on how much effort you're putting into it, how scalable it is, and if there's any moat to your business. You will probably make less per hour as an associate, and that's after you give up 2 years for bschool. Keep in mind it'll be tough to get into PE without a PE background before bschool.

If you end up going to bschool and want to sell it, PM me.

If you think you can scale that business then def. stay and do that. But it is a little risky - maybe you flatten out at $200k and it starts to decline in 5 years and now you're 35 and looking for finance jobs competing with people who are a decade younger than you.

I'd go to bschool and hire someone to run the business while you study and keep it going while you're in school.