MsF: Can a 700 GMAT (req. min. 600) offset a 2.7 GPA (req. min. 3.0) in a Tier 2 university?

Hi guys,

I have a low GPA (2.7) and I am going to apply to a Finance Master in a Tier 2 University (RSM). Their requirements, among others, are:

- Minimum GPA of 3.0
- Minimum GMAT 600
- They will "decide if a GPA is sufficient or not"

Do you think a GMAT of 650-700 would be enough to offset my low GPA? Do I stand a chance? I have some job experience, nothing fancy but some job experience after all.

What advices could you give me?

Thanks a lot.

None of us can tell you that. Call the individual schools and ask how strict their GPA floor is and if they think you would be a good candidate. Something to keep in mind though is that outside of MBA programs, specialized Masters degrees are far more flexible since they don't have to worry about the rankings.

Commercial Real Estate Developer

By RSM you mean erasmus in Rotterdam right? My experience and that of others is that they are quit strict on the GPA cutoff, they say it is a prerequisite they don't negotiate on. Also it's not like if you meet the gpa cutoff you can still get dinged as with LSE or other universities. If you have the minimum GPA, right profile and >600 on the GMAT they will accept you. Wouldn't hurt to contact them though, hope this helps. Also, are you sure their GPA is >3.0? I believe for US students the website says 3.3.

My msf program had the same minimum requirements and I was given a scholarship with a 2.5 gpa and 730 GMAT. At most programs it requires the admissions officer to submit a petition on your behalf. Get whoever is listed as the admissions officer on the phone and schmooze them. Higher GMATs go very far in MSF admissions.

"I know you think you understand what you thought I said but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant."

Thanks all for your input guys, I really appreciate.