GMAT Prep 700, Real test 640

Hello all,

I have been studying the GMAT for 9 months (including studying 3+ hours every single day for the last 3 months) and am truly "burnt out." I took two practice exams (GMAT Prep) 2 weeks before the real test and got a 700 and 710. On the real test I became so nervous I got a 640 (somehow my verbal went way down and that was where I was most confident). My question is - would it make sense to retake it right away (31 days later) and simply relax this month, lightly going over strategies much less intense than I was? With this method I will not "lose" my 9 months of studying and may not care as much leading to a more confident test day experience.

If you are asking this question you already know the answer. The night before go out for dinner and chill, it really isn't that bad, just relax into it and be confident and you will nail it....best advice i ever got

joshuagoodwin0:
If you are asking this question you already know the answer. The night before go out for dinner and chill, it really isn't that bad, just relax into it and be confident and you will nail it....best advice i ever got

Great advice, wish I had followed it. OP, I'm in the same boat as you but much worse. My highest prep score was a 710, and my real score....... a whopping 580!!! My problem was that I went into the test feeling wayyyyy too comfortable and confident; I ended up paying less attention to tricks and multi-layered questions as a result. Anyways, it happens man, don't feel bad. I'm going to set aside at least a month after graduation to really study for the GMAT using phantombanker's guide at (//www.wallstreetoasis.com/blog/how-i-got-a-770-on-the-gmat-with-minimal-e…). Definitely check this out if you haven't already.