WallStreetOasis.com » Forums » Industry Specific » Hedge Funhouse
weatherballoon23's picture

Spark LP? Anyone know of this hedge fund?

Does anyone know anything about this hedge fund? They recruit at Harvard and Yale and offer very large starting salaries (often promising $240K+ first year out). Are they legit? Thanks.

No votes yet
oldhat's picture

where are they based?

if it's in manhattan upper west side then i've heard of them and yes - i believe they are "legit" - how much more legit do you need them to be than getting 240k a year ?

HedgeHog's picture

Stark is about as far from the UWS as you can get..

They're a top tier fund, but (only guessing here) need to pay up to compensate top talent for having to living in Milwaukee though high salaries...

napoleon's picture

Wrong fund

that's Stark Invesments (13bn out of Milwaukee). Don't know much about spark

weatherballoon23's picture

?

They are in Manhattan...I believe the one "oldhat" is referring to. Does anyone have any further knowledge?

hf_guy's picture

There is one other option here...

There is a group based in Asia (Hong Kong) called Sparx. They are one of, if not the largest Asia focused hedge fund groups is the world. Not sure about what presence they may have in NYC so it may not be the same group. Stark, on the other hand, may have an office in NYC but it would only be a small regional office as Milwaukee is their home base. The pay figure sounds high for a group like Stark. Otherwise, I have never heard of Spark LP.

xqtrack's picture

bump

bump

Ivar Kreuger's picture

i saw this posting and was

i saw this posting and was wondering the same thing- i haven't ever heard mention of this fund and the ad sounds like it was written by some fast-buck artist, so i wouldn't be surprised if they're a bunch of hacks.

probably going to drop my resume all the same.

ihavenomoneynow's picture

they recruit at several of

they recruit at several of the ivies... from the posting they seem to be a quant fund, but we'll see. no way the salaries are true though. for human recruiting i think they said 150+...

i just hope its not a prop shop

ringtailedlemur's picture

Haha, yeah I resume dropped

Haha, yeah I resume dropped mostly just because I was so curious as to whether they were legit or not.

They have a delightful website: http://www.sparktrading.com/

ringtailedlemur's picture

Got an interview! This is

Got an interview!

This is the first time I'm actually excited for the "Do you have any questions?" part of the interview...

ringtailedlemur's picture

for the googlers out there

spark is a very small, relatively old hedge fund that's been closed for quite some time and likes to keep a low profile. They seemed very much legit, but I have no real evidence (other than a business card!)

My interviewer seemed pretty great, we'll see how things go.

ihavenomoneynow's picture

is it a fundamental or quant

is it a fundamental or quant fund? i have an upcoming phone interview with them... thanks

Soy's picture

How can you have an

How can you have an interview if you don't even know their principal strategy? I call bull shit.
-----------------------------------------------------
http://www.deadstock.ca/
Your closet will never be the same again.

neutralnuke's picture

http://www.secinfo.com/d13JC5

http://www.secinfo.com/d13JC5.3c.htm
so they do exist.
Could those who have interviewed mind telling us more about the firm?

Soy's picture

Seems interesting, anyone

Seems interesting, anyone got information?
-----------------------------------------------------
http://www.deadstock.ca/
Your closet will never be the same again.

neutralnuke's picture

1/2 of their employees hold

1/2 of their employees hold PhDs from top schools. Have employees from Harvard, Stanford, Cornell, MIT, Princeton.

^^paraphrased from their description on school's career services site.

1/2 have PhDs -> I'm guessing quant fund...

Soy's picture

neutralnuke, do you know if

neutralnuke, do you know if they recruit from undergrad?
-----------------------------------------------------
http://www.deadstock.ca/
Your closet will never be the same again.

neutralnuke's picture

no idea - no positions

no idea - no positions listed but guessing that they are recruiting FT at harvard, yale (from the above posts)

sherminator's picture

i have an upcoming phone

i have an upcoming phone interview with them as well for FT hedge fund generalist position. i have no idea what they do...

ringtailedlemur's picture

I don't think they expect

I don't think they expect you to know what they do. In fact, they might be a little suspicious if you do (their lack of presence is intentional).

But for what its worth, my interviewer described their strategy as "stat arb but actually done right" for what its worth.

Expect to be asked "Does money motivate you?" And to talk about your academic background.

In any case, doesn't look like I got a second round.