IBD (Post-MBA) Associate Lifestyle Anno 2016

I understand this question has been raised many times, but there are also a lot of BS answers on this forum and times are changing a little, so I am hoping to gain valuable insights on this.

I recently read the Quarter Midlife Crisis topic and the (rather depressing) replies. Obviously some of it may be exaggerated, but with quite a lot of consistent replies, one starts to wonder ...

Is a career banker (read: post-MBA) really a path that will most likely lead to unhappiness and a serious unhealthy lifestyle? Many banks are promoting a better work/life balance anno 2016 - is that simply all a lie or marketing trick? Or is a lot of this stuff overblown?

I am an incoming student at an M7 program with a non-traditional background. I always did transactional work and worked moderately intense hours (on average 60 - 70h a week). I consider pursuing IBD as a full-time career path post MBA, I absolutely love transactional work but not to the extent that I will never have ANY time for anything else.

I am not disillusioned that I will become a multi millionaire in my early '30s, but banking (and MC, and admittedly they seem happier) is one of the few (high-paying) career paths that is viable for me and does not require a pre-MBA experience in the same field.

Any - serious - answers are really appreciated.

Really dependent on the bank / group. 6-18 months post graduation will probably be most intense from a post-MBA standpoint (you have no idea what you are doing, you don't have any non-analysts working under you, you are given the shittiest assignments, etc.). After 18 months, things get better as you become more efficient and move up the ladder a bit.

You're still in client service, so the work is unpredictable, but you'll generally have time to actually enjoy life.