Anyone heard anything about Maxim Group IB?

So, I'm deciding between PWM at UBS or Merrill vs. IB at Maxim Group. I've been told PWM is usually bullshit - but I'm wondering whether the name will be more important than the "experience." I am a Sophomore, go to target school, decent GPA, etc... if anyone has heard of Maxim Group and can give me some advice on this, hit me up.

What is it Like Working at Maxim Group?

Maxim is a small middle market investment banking shop. They don’t pay as well as other firms, but it is an opportunity to get investment banking experience. WSO members shared their insight:

From Certified Corporate Development Professional – Manager @adapt or die"

• I would prob take the IB gig at Maxim rather than go PWM, it would probably help you land a IB MM/BB next summer

From Certified Investment Banking Professional – Vice President @Bullet-Tooth Tony"

• They are an average MM shop IMO
  • Most of their deals are public offerings or placements, where they piggyback
  • The lead arranger/underwriter transactions are very small, as are most of the M&A deals
  • Still, seems like they have some deal flow
  • Has lots of MDs/SVPs/C-Suite though, meaning less comp for the lower guys

From Certified Asset Management Professional – 1st Year Associate @Angelus99"

In some circumstances its actually a pure cold calling firm but they are involved in a lot of big deals that MSSB is involved in.

Recommended Reading

Preparing for Investment Banking Interviews?

The WSO investment banking interview course is designed by countless professionals with real world experience, tailored to people aspiring to break into the industry. This guide will help you learn how to answer these questions and many, many more.

IB Interview Course

..yeah it probably will help u land a spot a MM given that you network ur ass. but maxim for full time is shitty unless u want to spend ur time doing reg 144A transactions and bs ipos and get paid $10 an hour.