2020 Job Search

Hello all,

I'm sure there are many other people that have their fair share of jo search issues, but I'd be extremely grateful for some specific advice. I am currently in asset management and looking to move to NYC and go into equity research. I've had some trouble finding roles that fit my experience and skill set. I am skilled in financial analysis, financial modeling, and I have some experience in valuation. Over quarantine, I took several classes to learn Python so I have knowledge there, as well as bloomberg. To get to the point, I have looked at lower level research jobs and I would be staying in the entry-level sector even though I am on the tail end of my entry level career (right at 3yrs experience). When I am looking through these job postings, they are asking for 0-2 years experience but asking for experience in equity research. How am I supposed to enter this field if the lowest level jobs are asking for experience in that field? This is something I am very passionate about and something that I would truly enjoy going to work every day. If one of you has had a similar experience, how did you get past this speedbump? If anyone could offer me some insight or at least a few ideas of their own, it would be very appreciated. 

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

I guess they would consider your profile if you have already done AM in the equity space. At the end of the day, skills are very similar. Nonetheless, it will also depend on what ER teams are you targeting (top BB vs MM) and from what AM you come.