June 2009 Grad - Feeling Dejected (Almost) - Any Advice Appreciated

I graduated from a semi-target school in June 2009 with an MBA in finance and corporate accounting (GPA 3.5). During OCR, was waitlisted at a BB - who later took TARP.

Since graduating, I have been interning at a small M&A shop - who declared at the time of hiring that there is no possibility of hiring full-time. I have been reaching out to alums (not awful many in IB - plenty in other finance functions though) since past few months. Up until recently all i got to hear was - go to pwm, take BD roles, go corp fin at some company in hot sector etc. But I am dead set on banking - MM / Boutique - anything under the sun.

Problems I m facing (besides not getting any interviews):

• virtually no 1st year associate positions out there
  • i do not have full-time IB exp
  • i m willing to go in as 2nd/3rd year analyst - firms declare me as overqualified for that (or its a polite way of saying no)
  • quite a few alums were laid off as well (i m pretty sure it was my bad luck rubbing off on them in advance)

Sorry for such awfully long post. I am feeling very lost and there seems no light at the end of tunnel. Any advice is deeply appreciated.

Sorry dude, you need to be realistic. Given your situation and credential, if you are still dead set on banking, then you will really be dead soon.

Also, forget about 2nd/3rd analyst... You will probably qualify as a 1st year associate, but you will not qualify as an experienced analyst because you don't have much relevant experience.

Your best bet will be the small M&A shop you are interning right now, in case they suddenly decide to hire. The market is picking up slowly, so there may be a chance.

Good luck.

resume looks like a bunch of text...add some lines...second line of the bullets doesn't look right...make it look more uniform to other banking resumes...

Check hyphens for consistency...till date - what is that???..."one of four analysts" not parallel...