2022 grad trying to break into IB

London

I graduated with a Masters degree in business (not finance though) from a semi-target in 2022, and currently working in corporate finance for some F500 company. At uni I was a bit clueless on my career path and corporate finance seemed like a good starting point, but I don't see myself here in the long run and really want to move to IB. The problem is I don't know how to do this.

I considered applying for FT analyst roles starting in Sept 2024, but London-based job postings are only for final year students/2023 grads, so I don't quality for them. This leaves me wondering how to break into IB given 1) the tough market for FT roles, 2) 2 years of work experience as of Sept 2024.

I read on WSO that the faster I break into IB the better (unless I want to go through the MBA - associate route which I don't want) but it looks like I'm already too 'old' for the new analyst programs. 

What would you suggest then?

• trying to lateral as an analyst through headhunters/networking (to A1/A2?)
  • ignoring the requirements and applying for analyst roles for 2024 intake anyway, even though I'm not the recent grad

any other suggestions?? 

Hey there! It sounds like you're in a bit of a pickle, but don't worry, you're not the first to face this challenge and you certainly won't be the last.

Firstly, you're right that breaking into IB sooner rather than later is generally better, but it's not impossible if you've got a few years of experience under your belt. In fact, your experience in corporate finance could be a valuable asset, as it's given you a solid understanding of business and finance principles.

As for your options, both of the ones you've suggested could work. Lateral moves can be a great way to break into IB, especially if you've got relevant experience. Networking and reaching out to headhunters could definitely help you find opportunities that aren't widely advertised.