2019 Investment Banking Full Time Recruiting - Do I Have a Chance?

I'm a non-traditional student, attending a non-target school, with a GPA of 3.49. I participated in some SA interviews this past season with JPMorgan, CITI, BoA, and Goldman, along with some smaller regional banks, but unfortunately nothing came of any of them. The only option I see from here is to read and study this summer and prepare myself for full time recruiting in the Fall and Winter. What should I do to prepare myself for the full time interviews, if I'm lucky enough to get one?

First remain positive and start networking heavy. As a non-traditional student as well I can sympathize with you the struggle when going into interviews. With that being said your goal this summer and going into FT recruiting is to have 2-3 analysts and at least one MD or D you have made a great connection with recommend/ push your application through. This is crucial as FT recruiting is tough due to some any banks wanting to give offers to their summers.

For color, when I was interviewing at a BB last October the MD who oversaw my schools recruiting said that it is almost impossible to get an interview for FT. You need to know someone because their offer rate to summers is so high,

Thanks for the words of encouragement. I've been filling my time with reading and networking. The main book I've been reading is Investment Baking by Joshua Rosenbaum and Joshua Pearl. My girlfriends cousin is also an associate at GSAM, but I'm trying to get him to hook me up with a couple of contacts in IB. I've also contacted a couple of analysts at JPM, and I'm trying to work my into their Junior Analyst position come next summer.

I did an unpaid internship the summer after my sophomore year for a small search find here in Knoxville. It was mostly industry and small business research, with a little bit of excel here and there. Nothing crazy.

Controversial