2019 SA - No Interviews??

suppgamestrong's picture

Hey guys,

I'm a sophomore at a target (HYP) and I'm going through the summer 2019 SA recruiting process. I've applied to a bunch of places, done a few Korus and a Hirevue, but so far haven't gotten any phone interviews/superdays. I know things are a little unclear this recruiting cycle since everything's so accelerated, and I wanted to get WSO's input. I'm feeling a little worried at this point from not having heard anything yet.

Background info: 3.9 econ major, straight Asian male (so no diversity/insight programs for me). I have a boutique IB internship for this coming summer, which I've put on my resume/applications accordingly. I've gone to the on-campus info sessions/networking events and talked to people, and they've mostly responded to my follow-ups. Am I just freaking out very prematurely? Or should I actually be worried? Are a lot of intern classes going to be full going into the summer? Or are most places still conducting OCR in the fall for substantial portions of their classes?

Comments (19)

Apr 22, 2018

The recruiting season just started. Be chill!

Apr 22, 2018

What he said. Also be sure to cast a wide net!

May 7, 2018

Yup, you guys were right. I'm now in the process of interviewing w/ a PE firm and also PJT. I predict if I get interviews for BBs, they'll likely be later in the summer/early fall, since I don't qualify for any of the accelerated programs and I just doubt I'm lucky enough to be one of the non-diversity people who get interviewed this spring.

Apr 22, 2018

Also from a target school. If people in your class have gotten interviews for a specific bank and you haven't, you should be worried. But keep grinding and the interviews will eventually land.

Apr 22, 2018

Fuck, non-target here- I gotta get my shit together. I haven't started networking nor applying at all. Didn't expect recruiting to start THIS early.

Apr 22, 2018