Too Late for 2019 Summer Opps?

What's up WSO,

I'm a sophomore at a semi-target in the northeast, and I only have one internship experience in a small shop doing PWM. Didn't really get screened for many opportunities within FO (probably due to having around a 3.3 GPA).

I've just been hustling and networking my ass off and I have found a few opportunities where I've been referred to a position by my mentor. In case I don't secure anything and since most BB programs or deadlines have past, what or where should I be looking at to secure a sophomore summer internship and still be able to transition for an IB internship for junior year summer?

You need to get that GPA up, definitely over a 3.5/3.6 but a 3.7/3.8 to be safe.

For this summer aim at small sub-10 people IB shops in various cities. Look at other cities like Philly, Boston, DC to find small shops needing cheap help

“If you ain’t first, you’re last!” - GOAT

Thanks for the input, but is it actually possible to transition to IB for junior year summer or would I be pegged as “finance” or “compliance” for the rest of my career?

I have OCR coffee chats coming up with MS for finance and compliance for opps this summer; so it’s very possible for me to secure something; I just want to know the answer to the question in the paragraph above given IB is where I want to be after graduation

In my personal experience, it was no issue, I was able to speak to relevant skills I learned in my more MO/BO roles and why IB. Plus at a big well-known firm, you can be networking with people in the area you want. (i.e. IB) I think that you should be in a great position to apply for IB after a summer in a less FO role at one of the big banks. Obviously, if you can land an IB internship at the firm you want then go for it, but its rare and a summer in a MO/BO role is definitely not useless.

Most Helpful

Network, network, and network some more...