Minnesota IB 2024

Wanted to get a 2024 check on the state of Minnesota banking. I'm a U of M student considering staying home and recruiting for one of the shops in MPLS. I am mainly interested in HL RX, HL P&U, Piper Sandler, and HW. I'm curious about culture/deal flow as opposed to NYC counterparts. 

Nothing. It’s cute.

I really have nothing to add beyond perhaps checking on LinkedIn
(Pro tip if you google “investment banking analyst (or whatever position) Minnesota LinkedIn” you can bypass the search limitations on the LinkedIn app (unless you have premium then disregard)

You can also run a search on brokercheck by location. I’ve done that in the past to verify if someone is actually doing IB (if they have correct and current licenses)

Piper MN is their headquarters and has most of the groups except for FIG

Most Helpful

Lol... you know, because the news isn't incentivized to sensationalize anything. 

IB scene in Minneapolis is sneaky good. Piper HC & Serv/Industrials teams are really good, HW food is top notch. Houlihan has a good Ind/Services team there plus Rx... Lazard also has some decent teams. Hennipen Partners is LMM but is a really solid shop (most guys are ex-Lazard), Northborne Partners is similar to HP but have been absolutely on fire in the LMM and have heard they have a pretty solid culture. There are other boutiques but they come with their own set of issues. 

Julian up there seems to be reading google more than spending time in the area. It is a pretty sick area when you consider income vs. cost of living and a lot of the PE shops that I talk to regularly are noticing the amount of talent in the area. Regularly hear people making a point to get to Minny (I have good vibes with the place so I can call it that) because they can have a solid day or two of quality meetings.