Shouldn’t 2020-21 bonuses be massive

So I am just a lowely intern, but I was thinking, if the whole reason GS has debated raising base is because of the “eat what you kill” mentality shouldn’t analyst bonuses be at least double in busy groups this year? If hypothetically in 2019 10 analysts are on a team that generated 100M in fees each get an avg 50k bonus, does it not track that they deserve to get a 100k bonus if the group closed double the amount due to the insane deal flow in 2020-21? Makes no sense to me and incentivizes analysts to “hide” and do the bare minimum and just coast to middle bucket by not fucking up. Am I missing something?

Should they be higher? Yes because juniors are getting crushed harder than any time in the past decade or two. Will they be much higher relative to the extra hell? Probably not (although might be a bit higher). It’s supply and demand. Every good bank has a ridiculous number of applicants on the daily. I wish it weren’t like this but that’s the name of the game.

I think if bonuses suck turnover will be even worse than anticipated and future generations of young ib people will look to leave ib even sooner after seeing how shitty bonuses were during covid. I think this will lead to even higher compensation for future generation of ibers in 2-3 years, maybe sooner if turnover is really bad.

Most Helpful

They were slightly higher at my bank (BB coverage), but probably only like ~$5k higher than prior years.