WSO Weekly Wrap-Up (11/21-11/27)

Have a great Thanksgiving everyone! In case you missed them, here're some of last week's most popular topics:

5 Things I Wish I Knew When I Started Consulting
Post By @Alistair-Clark"

I worked as a management consultant for 4 years and learned a bunch of stuff about business and strategy and operations. I also learned how to sound smart about something I knew nothing about, and how to use jargon to make simple things sound incredibly complex. While none of these things help me with my new business, I did pick up a few valuable life lessons. Hopefully these lessons will help the next generation of consultants.

Non-Targeted Southern School with No Connections, 2016 Capital Markets Analyst
Post By @dj_clem"

I grew up in a small South Carolina town and I am the first in my family to get a degree from an accredited school. My family was not well off so I went to a state school and graduated as quickly as possible-- completing my Bachelors and Masters in Economics in three years. I wanted to go into IB before moving to a VC or startup, but I was turned down from every internship I applied to in the industry. I missed deadlines for most internships (no one from my school did IB, so I had no mentorship) or I just simply did not qualify... I can not wait to start working and represent my school. In future, I will definitely be paying my kids to go to an elite school!

Value and Taxes: Breaking down the Pfizer- Allergan Deal
Post By @Aswath Damodaran"