WSO Weekly Wrap-Up (4/23-4/29)

In case you missed them, here're some of last week's most popular topics:

Headed to HBS in the Fall - Ask Me Anything (AMA)
Post By @Deo et Patriae"

I was fortunate enough to be accepted into HBS in Round 2 and I will be heading there this Fall. I graduated with an AB from Harvard (Economics). Feel free to ask about my experience with the MBA application process.

Why are Equity Research and Investment Management looked down upon?
Post By @billbelichick69"

It seems like there is a lack of content on WSO outside of the IB and PE forums. I would guess that this is because of the site's general focus towards IB; I also noticed that are no ER or AM guides published by WSO. As far as ER and AM seem to be looked down upon, I have noticed some people do not recognize that ER and AM both have decent balance and exit opportunities.

The Allure of Investment Banking
Post By @etx"

At what age did you know that investment banking was the right industry for you? Did you plan on making it a short stint, or did the fierce competition and devastatingly exciting work grab you and not let you go?

Fulltime recruiting: How many slots are there? Associates and Analysts
Post By @Redelephant"

How many slots are there generally for full-time analyst or associate gigs once you take out the Summer slots? This question pertains to middle-market firms (including Stifel/Raymond James and the like), BBs and EBs.

My system for getting better at work (every single day)
Post By @Alistair-Clark"

Today, I am going to share with you a tactic I use when I feel that my (professional) growth is stagnant. It is a simple system I use to measure my performance and make sure that I am getting better every single day.

AMA: Venture Capital Co-Founding Partner
Post By @SeedCapitalist7"