Graduating from UG in December of 2020 - Am I Toast for CRE Analyst Roles?

Hi All,

First of all, thank you for this forums dedicated support to helping us younger guys coming in the industry. I've been curious about how long these hiring freezes are going to be running considering the pandemic. I, like many of my peers, are facing this pandemic and thinking it's going to cut our job opportunities deeply. I'm looking to get into CRE capital markets (JLL, CBRE, Eastdil etc.), or onto a LifeCo's RE team (a bit of a stretch most likely), or a REPE (Dream job).

A little bit of background on me: I'm a senior at a top west coast state school, known for engineering but with a solid with business school. Most business graduates seem to end up at a Big-4 doing accounting or consulting, very little IBD, good amount of CRE representation. I'm studying Finance with a minor in Construction Management. The second I saw the markets plunging I was glad that I extended my graduation date to December as opposed to June, thinking I could weather the storm for a little while.

I interned for a large brokerage (JLL,CBRE, Cushman etc.) last summer on their Office leasing team and am currently doing an unpaid remote internship for a very small team of guys based in SoCal who are buying multifamily deals in the mid-west (deals range from 1-8mm). The unpaid internship has been my best work experience yet, underwriting deals, getting exposure to waterfall models, talking with brokers to source new deals etc.

Getting down to the crux of the post- When I graduate in December do you guys foresee me and those like me getting screwed? I have a pretty solid network that I've put in the work to get, (1-2 phone calls per week with alumni for the past 2 years).

Providing it doesn't get cancelled, i'll be interning at a national lender this summer on their multifamily debt team.

Thank you all for your help-stay safe

Most Helpful