Forced to delay graduation but accepted summer 2020 offer -- what to do?

Hi everyone. I'm a sophomore and after doing accelerated recruiting, I got a summer 2020 BB IB offer (my junior summer). However, due to personal and family reasons, I have had to leave college for the remainder of my semester and will return this coming fall, so my graduation has been pushed from May 2021 to December 2021.

Would this normally mean that my offer would get rescinded, as this effectively means that summer 2020 would be my sophomore summer? How should I communicate this with the recruiters? And how explicit do I need to be with all the details? The BB has a sophomore summer program, and I was hoping that I could just get transferred over to that.

Thanks everyone. This has been quite a stressful time. I really appreciate this community, and I honestly wouldn't haven't gotten the offer in the first place if it weren't for all the information in these forums. So thank you all.

In that case though, if I end up getting the return offer, I'd have to tell them that I wouldn't be able to start working in 2021. I want to avoid further problems down the line.

Most Helpful

If it is for family reasons, and not due to academic or disciplinary reasons, you should feel no hesitation in discussing with your bank. Any bulge bracket HR team will help you through the process. I'd be shocked if you didn't still have the ability to intern over summer of 2020 in addition to a commitment from the bank to give you a flexible start date (should you perform well during your internship).

I would err on the side of full disclosure rather than hiding the ball. It's never a good look to have it come to light that you were hiding information from your employer.

-- sm

Thanks! Yeah, I wasn't disciplined/forced to leave by my school, but it was a personal decision I made based on personal and family stuff going on.