Top US Project Finance Groups/Infrastructure PE Groups 2020

I recently married my American girlfriend and am beginning the process of emigrating to the US in late 2020. I am at a boutique in the UK with a project finance focus, but we also do M&A in infrastructure/energy/resources. I have done a bit of research and have a general idea of the project finance/infrastructure PE space in NY but am looking for someone active in the US to give a bit of colour re the top groups in these niches. Particularly interested in hearing from people in NY, Houston and SF/LA.

I'm a PF analyst in the US. As far as I know, all PF in the US is run out of NY.

While the banks you mentioned may be top of the league tables due to sheer quantity of deals, the analyst experience is definitely not as good as it is at the BBs. The foreign banks (espec Japanese & French) do a lot of syndicated loan underwriting and often can't compete on pure advisory / structuring / acqfin mandates, which are a lot more interesting to work on, and provide better experience for buyside moves. Macquarie has a good group, but the others you mentioned (+ SMBC, Mizuho, SocGen, Agricole, etc etc.) definitely fall into the former bucket.

In my experience (+ chatting to friends across the street), it's really the American BBs, espec. GS/JPM/C that offer the best PF analyst experience. MS has a dedicated group as well, but haven't seen them on a lot of deals. The deals they do get on are big though simply because its MS. Not sure how BAML + BarCap are set up, but they're both quite active. Deutsche has a dedicated group too but have definitely been less active recently. Haven't heard much about CS / UBS.

Of the foreign banks, BNP has a great group in NY, and RBC / HSBC have been active as well. If you're looking for more of an M&A focus, JPM is really strong in the space, as are Evercore + Macquarie, in addition to the other BBs. RBC has been making waves too.