Do I have a chance for SA 2026??

I’m worried that I won’t have placement for IB, and was wondering if you could provide me with some advice. I’ve been lurking on this site since my uncle, who works at an Investment Bank, told me about his profession and it interested me. For reference I am an incoming freshman at Wharton and grew up right outside of NYC. I would classify as a diverse.

The issue I’m currently pressed with is that I think I will be a “small fish in a big pond,” which I am actively trying to cope with. Many of the incoming Wharton freshmen on LinkedIn have internships with search funds, private equity, and wealth management, but I networked with many different private equity firms and EBs and none of them would give me an internship and told me to apply when I’m older. Now I am stuck on holiday across the world for the summer as I sit back and watch my peers complete internships. I also am struggling a bit with the Greeks and Paper LBOs, which leads me to believe I have no chance for my freshman fall. I’m also worried that me being a diverse candidate will be a roadblock for me because I’m at Wharton.

Do you have any advice of what I can do to come back from my current deficit? If I’m fucked, what other careers are like Investment Banking that pay as much?

what... Im not trying to flex that I worked hard in high school and got to Wharton, I'm simply asking for advice. I think my diversity classification will be bad since I'm at Wharton so it would be assumed that I'm dumb and only got there because of my background. And, so many of my peers have internships already and I don't.

I have a wonderful idea for you, since Wharton sounds like such a disaster, why not choose to go to a worse school? It'll solve all of your problems right? Nobody will have any internships, you can be as big as a fish as you want. Jesus Christ man, go outside.