Low GPA IB Recruiting SA2025

I know this post has been made multiple times but I want to know smth related to my situation

I am a sophomore at a semi-target school majoring in business analytics and finance and I will be recruiting for SA2025. The only problem is that I have 3.46 GPA, and I am not sure i will be able to get it more than a 3.5, but im networking so hard, I know MDs from menlo mark MS and I am networking alot. My question is that if i am able to get myself refrred from associates and analysts, would my gpa still matter if my resume is passed along?

Most Helpful

Your GPA does and does not matter as much as you think it does. Let me explain.

Grades matter first and foremost for screening purposes. When banks get thousands of resumes in a week for internships, they need to filter them down quickly and efficiently. One of the ways to do this is to put a hard stop on GPAs. The number they choose is entirely up to whoever is running the hiring process. Sometimes it's 3.5, sometimes it's 3.8. Other times there's no initial cap and it's more about timing or luck in terms of whose resumes get shortlisted.