Feeling Lost: Rising Senior Who Had Summer 2024 Offer Cancelled

Title sums it up, I am a penultimate year student at a semi-target in the UK studying a stem degree, I was promised a position in a top group at a top MM boutique in London through an outstanding senior partner with whom I have a strong relationship. I was obviously very excited about this and was eager to verbally accept the offer. I just found out that the partner I was going to work for is going on gardening leave on a timeline which means that I will not have a position available for me this summer. He has promised to hire me once he gets his next thing going when I graduate, but not sure how to feel about that. Am I fucked for this summer? I have already exhausted my networking opportunities and turned down several other offers for this opportunity. I am trying to get back in touch with some people who previously offered to help me and am applying to anything I can find, but at this late stage I have not heard anything compelling back as of yet and I am starting to panic. I do not want the partner to be put off by the fact that I may not work this summer though I do have two years of finance experience in a Tier 1 city outside the UK, including one at a boutique IB. Also if something were to happen to this opportunity, it will be impossible to recruit for graduate positions without having a good internship in my penultimate year summer.

Looking for advice on different avenues to take with my summer, what should I do? Am I fucked? How do I become not fucked?

Ah, the classic tale of high finance drama—promises, sudden changes, and the scramble to keep one's career trajectory on track. First off, let's take a deep breath. While this is indeed a setback, it's far from the end of the world or your finance career. Based on the most helpful WSO content, here are some actionable steps and perspectives to consider: