Summer 2016 internships

Hi, I am a rising college sophomore at a non target school (Good LAC). I am extremely interested in finance and investment banking in particular, however I am lost in the recruitment process for summer analyst positions. Are you supposed to just apply online,or does it have to be through your school? My gpa is only a 3.5, is that high enough to get an interview without connections? If not what is a good summer internship to get this year that is easier to get, but will provide me with a good background in the financial field? I forgot to include that I have no prior finance experience. I appreciate any commentary with regards to this topic. Thanks

Best Response

I'm in a similar situation but having been able to hear from various analysts/associates and campus recruiters I think there is a bit I can say. But with that said, I haven't personally been through the recruiting process so take this with a grain of salt.

For the most part, just applying online won't cut it. If you're applying to a local firm, they will hopefully have some OCR events which you should be going to. Your school should have postings so for the firms that have OCR you should be applying through the school, and obviously you apply online for firms that don't have OCR. Exception: if you're applying to a firm with OCR but for a different office, this would be online for most firms I've heard from.