8/5/16 - WSO Weekly Wrap Up

In case you missed them, here're some of last week's most popular topics:

From Depression to Community College to Target School & Beyond
Post By @Nick Naylor"

This past spring I graduated from my local community college and was accepted into 2 out of 3 schools I applied to. After receiving an endless amount of useful advice and information from this community, I thought it would be a good time to formally introduce myself and hopefully share any information that could help any young students and monkeys.

Prestigious Party Schools
Post By @Nick Naylor"

Business Insider did an article about the schools which rank the highest on their "work hard, play hard"-o-meter. I see my school up there, but some of these rankings seem a little odd. Why is Cornell at #8 and MIT at #2?

Stimulants 101: How to wake yourself up and get shit done (without destroying your long-term health)
Post By @Alistair-Clark"

I am going to dig into the topic of stimulants. Here is why the "common sense" approach to stimulants is wrong (and downright dangerous), and I will give you a better and healthier alternative for waking yourself up when you need to get shit done at work.

What Perks Do You Guys Get in your IBD Jobs?
Post By @tempurask"

My friend told me that at Houlihan Lokey, they received an Unlimited Metro Card for mornings. Lunch, dinner and phone bills were paid for. There was also a gym subsidy and cabs to send them home at night.

Open offices vs. cubicles - Which one do you prefer?
Post By @fine-nance"

What do you guys think? Are you for open offices or are you for cubicles? To me, an open office lacks privacy. It is also loud and distracting!

Structuring and Flow in an M&A Model
Post By @TorontoMonkey1328"

Most of you probably already know this, but sometimes it does not hurt to say it again out loud, especially since I have seen a few confusingly (and unnecessarily) circular models lately. Your information should flow in one direction.