I have $40,000 in my checking account. What's the safest/smartest way to increase it in a year?

Hello, I have little to no knowledge of personal finance. All I know is it's better to invest it than just leave it there.

The question is where?

A quick google searches says ETFs like VOO or VTI are my best bet.
Β 

Just looking for ideas/advice. Thanks.

WSO Elite Modeling Package

• 6 courses to mastery: Excel, Financial Statement, LBO, M&A, Valuation and DCF
  • Elite instructors from top BB investment banks and private equity megafunds
  • Includes Company DB + Video Library Access (1 year)

Comments (15)

Jan 2, 2022 - 2:35pm
PrivateTechquity πŸš€GMEπŸš€, what's your opinion? Comment below:

Give me your 40k and at the end of the year I'll give you back $80k. Sound like a good deal?

Array

Learn More

300+ video lessons across 6 modeling courses taught by elite practitioners at the top investment banks and private equity funds -- Excel Modeling -- Financial Statement Modeling -- M&A Modeling -- LBO Modeling -- DCF and Valuation Modeling -- ALL INCLUDED + 2 Huge Bonuses.

Learn more
Jan 2, 2022 - 4:21pm
GoodwinMog, what's your opinion? Comment below:

Energy ETFs with low fees to combat inflation and ride the momentum

Array
Jan 2, 2022 - 4:34pm
eloquence, what's your opinion? Comment below:

SPY or VTI are the best long term if you are looking for something safe to dump money in and forget about it for 40 years

WSO will tell you to do crypto, day trading, meme stocks etc but unless you are super into that stuff and can handle losing a large amount of your money, don't do it

Array

Jan 2, 2022 - 4:36pm
Isaiah_53_5 πŸ’ŽπŸ™ŒπŸ’ŽπŸ™ŒπŸ’Ž, what's your opinion? Comment below:

Someone about to say TQQQ in 3 … 2 … 1 …

"If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them." - Bruce Lee