I have $40,000 in my checking account. What's the safest/smartest way to increase it in a year?

Hello, I have little to no knowledge of personal finance. All I know is it's better to invest it than just leave it there.

The question is where?

A quick google searches says ETFs like VOO or VTI are my best bet.

Just looking for ideas/advice. Thanks.

[Comment removed by mod team]

Give me your 40k and at the end of the year I'll give you back $80k. Sound like a good deal?

"The obedient always think of themselves as virtuous rather than cowardly" - Robert A. Wilson | "If you don't have any enemies in life you have never stood up for anything" - Winston Churchill | "It's a testament to the sheer belligerence of the profession that people would rather argue about the 'risk-adjusted returns' of using inferior tooth cleaning methods." - kellycriterion

SPY or VTI are the best long term if you are looking for something safe to dump money in and forget about it for 40 years

WSO will tell you to do crypto, day trading, meme stocks etc but unless you are super into that stuff and can handle losing a large amount of your money, don't do it

Array

Someone about to say TQQQ in 3 … 2 … 1 …

"If you always put limits on everything you do, physical or anything else, it will spread into your work and into your life. There are no limits. There are only plateaus, and you must not stay there, you must go beyond them." - Bruce Lee

Most Helpful

been a while since I wrote about what you should do with your money. since I'm licensed by finra, you won't find any security recommendations herein

1. separate out your money into short, medium, and long term as follows, matching the amount of risk you take with what time period you'll use it for