FX S&T to F500 Corp Treasury?

Fellow monkeys - I've been an FX sales trader of a super regional bank the past 4 years, hoping to make the move to F500 corporate treasury.

How would F500 treasury groups look at this experience for filling a treasury analyst position, particularly if the role is heavily weighted towards managing the FX risk of the company? How much would a CTP designation help my cause?

The reason I want to make the move is b/c I'm more interested with the risk management aspect of FX markets, as opposed to sales.

If anyone here works in a F500 treasury group, or if anyone has made this move before, if you could give a few pointers to a chimp in need, would be appreciated greatly.

Best Response

Hi,

I will provide what information I can, as I work at a F50. I've seen these postings but they are generally very rare, so I would reccomend doing a lot of searching/networking for them. I don't know what you were making as a FX sales trader at a regional bank, but I would generally expect a significant cut in pay, though you will have a lot more job security - and will most likely only be working 50 hours or so a week to compensate.

I would expect your experience to be highly valued. Best of luck with it.

May I ask why you want to make the move?

Took to me a minute to connect the name with the picture, good SNL skits.