2019 ULI Spring Conference in Nashville

Hey all,

I recently joined ULI as an Associate Member, and I know that you have to be a Full member in order to attend, but I called and inquired about the possibility of going and it appears that it would be possible if I were to upgrade my membership.

Before I commit to going, I just had a couple of quick questions about the event from those that have attended/will attend, or can simply provide any knowledge/advice.

(1) From a quick glance of the list of attendees, it seems as if virtually everyone is some sort of VP/Director/Partner/C-level executive. Would it be a complete waste of time/frowned upon for me as a mere Associate to go?

(2) Is this event worth it for someone like me? I work as a consultant in the national real estate advisory group of a major public accounting firm, but the consulting work I do is for a very niche asset class with very little investment-related work involved so I don't have the traditional real estate background/knowledge to be of use to anyone that would be at the conference. For me, this is purely from a networking perspective and I am genuinely curious/interested in learning more about the array of different asset classes and this would be a great opportunity to pick the minds of some industry leaders. At the same time, I'd be lying if I said I wasn't interested in learning more about potential opportunities for me to transition out of consulting and into an acquisitions or development-related role. Not sure I'd have better exposure than an event like this.

(3) If anyone here is going, would anyone be interested in setting up some sort of networking event (happy hour) of our own? I enjoy reading this forum and even though I'm not a frequent poster I would love getting to meet new people.

Thanks in advance to anyone that could provide their input!