Analysts' 100K

Hey guys, Im a sophomore at Ross and while browsing the forums, I found a lot of analysts talk about how 100K salary in NY really isnt that much. I don't know if I had some crazy pipe dreams, but I had always assumed that 100K salary at 22 years old would be living the dream (even if I was working 100 hours a week). Apparently, though, the cost of living in NY is so high that analysts have enough to live and spend modestly, but not splurge on anything they want (as I had assumed). Is this true?

The short answer is 100k in nyc is really not that much. but i guess it depends on where you are from. One of my analyst buddies is from the boonies and thought 60k base was a great deal.

When you say 'splurge' on anything they want, what exactly are you talking about? analysts usually splurge a little on themselves when they get their bonuses (nice watch, nicer clothing, etc.) but its' not likely they're going out to buy a car (for the most part).

Best Response

First, as an Analyst you will only make around $60K in base salary your first year until your bonus hits in July... that is maybe $35K after taxes. In NYC you will be spending at least $1500 each month on an apartment... so that is already $18K right there. So you're left with $17K. $17K seems like a lot... but then you have other expenses like transportation, buying new clothes, furniture for your new place, etc. You do save quite a bit on food by never paying for it.

However, if you take all those one-time expenses (yes that is true banker-speak) and then factor in a couple hundred of "going out" expenses each month (reasonable in NYC), you're not left with much.

And my $1500 per month assumption for the apartment is on the cheap side... I think that is what really gets people, paying too much for an apartment.

One banker I know was paying so much he was actually cash-flow negative until he got his bonus (!).