JHU MSF? Profile Evaluation MSF 2014

Hello WSO users!

This is my first time posting here.Here's looking at you all for some valuable advice.

I'm applying to schools for Fall 2014 intake,and I'm looking at MSF and MiM programs. My career interest is in corporate finance (working as a financial analyst) or in AM. I'm not particularly looking for very intensive MSF programs,if I may be brutally honest, I'm also trying to factor in community and student life, and location.

My profile -

Engineer from India with a CGPA of about 7.85 on 10.
Have worked as an analyst for financial services (mainly support and implementing solutions,not hard core finance) for about `1.5 years now.

Have a strong extracurricular activity background.

Have done some basic courses like Operational Research, Calculus, Statistics,Financial Management in my undergrad.

Currently preparing for my CFA Level 1

GRE score : 329 (V:166,Q:163)

Published a paper on union budget analysis and the impact of the government's five year plans on Indian economy.

Based on these stats - would you consider the following choices wise? Any suggestions on schools I should add,delete or move around on the list ?Any schools where I might stand a strong chance?

Dream -
CMU (MsCF),
Columbia (Master in Management Science and Engineering)
LSE - Msc Management

Also applying to -

UT Austin (MSF)
WUSTL (MSF)
Simon (MSF)
UIUC(MSF)
Duke (MMS)
Purdue (MSF)
USC (MSF)
Vanderbilt (MSF)

Are my choices too optimistic? Should I be aiming lower?

Also, I was wondering how good the JHU MSF is. I haven't gotten many great reviews for it,but I like the university and it's got a good name IMO,at least for us folk living outside the U.SA.

Any feedback or comments or criticism welcome. @TNA,I'd be grateful if you could share your views on this.

Comments (15)

Nov 15, 2013