Off-Cycle IBD 2020

Hi, I have a question which is puzzling me and for which you might have an answer. I am an undergraduate student from a top french business school graduating in december this year. I have a gpa of 4.0 / 4.0 and intend to do a masters in finance in london from september onwards next year. I have two previous off cycle internships, the first one at a mid-range french bank in FI sales-trading (in paris), and the second one at a BB in DCM (in london). After those two internships I realised I preferred to go towards IBD M&A and have applied for off cycles in IBD at all the BB's and EB's, both in London and in Paris (MS, JP, GS, BAML, CS, Citi, Lazard, Rothschild, etc.).
Problem is, I have either been refused by all of them right after hirevue or am "under consideration" / "business review" since early to mid November - so most probably refused as well. I dont understand why as last year, before completing my off cycle at the BB when my CV was "weaker", I had been invited to a handful of AC's and made it to the last rounds of many banks. My CV is technically stronger this year yet the results I am getting are worst. Could somebody tell me what I am doing wrong if anything ?

Off-cycle internships have fewer spots and you are also competing with a lot of other coming Msc students from all over Europe. Breaking into off-cycle without networking is tough from my experience.

Which Msc are you getting in London? The LSE program is only 10 months and should allow you to recruit for next summer and then joining full-time.

I don't know... Yeah. Almost definitely yes.

Thanks for your reply. But what I dont get is how last year I was much more successful with off-cycle recruiting, making it to AC's and last rounds, and this year I am faced with an almost complete drought.