SA 2019 Recruitment timeline for Canadian undergrads to US

Hi WSO, I'm a sophomore currently attending a top target in Canada for US EB/PE/BBs. From speaking to alumni and current juniors going into their summers in the US right now, I haven't been able to establish a clear timeline of recruitment for firms like HL, Mo, EVR, GS. I have been browsing a lot lately but find that kids from HYPSW are getting super days so early as a result of early OCR sessions and better connections to recruiters. This was NOT the case for the junior kids in my program, as their experiences with recruitment started in July. I'm wondering if anyone could clear things up in terms of whether there are actually differences between Canadians recruiting for US shops and Americans recruiting for US shops.

Don't think it's that HYPSW kids are getting interviews early solely because of connections, but mainly because interviewing overall is happening early. Last year for all schools (including HYPSW) interviews started in July, which is why people from your school had that same experience. Would advise you to get on networking/recruiting ASAP - in general, I don't imagine any bank would hold open slots for Canadian students.

US banks and MF PE firms recruit at Ivey in September, but for the most part each firm only recruits for one or maybe two spots. From alumni at these firms that I have spoken to, this recruiting structure remains. However because limited spots are available, it’s not wise to put all of your apples in this basket.

There are lots of Canadian alumni at American firms already, so the best advice I can give is to hit the pavement and network as hard as possible. Target firms that you know have recruited at your school in the past. If you get an interview with these schools before OCR then awesome, but if you don’t then your networking should at least guarantee you get an interview by the time OCR comes.