Shadow Insurance 101: The downfall of the insurance industry?

I work in the insurance sector, primarily dealing with derivatives and collateral needs for institutions. I haven't seen much on this site about the insurance sector in particular...though there has been some talk about FIG as a whole. I thought this might be useful for educating some people about the perceived boring world of insurance. I've tried to boil this down to something very very basic, so I did not go into too much detail about certain things. I will do my best to field questions if there are any

What is insurance?

“An economic device transferring risk from an individual to a company and reducing the uncertainty of risk via pooling.” (NAIC) “A contract (policy) in which an individual or entity receives financial protection or reimbursement against losses from an insurance company” (Investopedia). Most people have insurance (life, property, etc.), and it comes in many shapes and forms.

What is reinsurance?

“A transaction between a primary insurer and another licensed (re) insurer where the reinsurer agrees to cover all or part of the losses and/or loss adjustment expenses of the primary insurer. The assumption is in exchange for a premium.” (NAIC). For simplicity, think of reinsurance as insurance for insurance.

What is a captive?

A captive is a subsidiary that is owned by an insurer’s parent company. These subsidiaries are a form of risk management for insurance companies.

A typical shadow insurance transaction:

• Parent company creates a captive insurance subsidiary.
  • The insurance company reinsures a block of existing policy claims through the captive.
  • The company then diverts the reserves it had on hand to pay policyholders to other purposes. This is allowed because reserve and collateral requirements for the captives are generally lower.

The Problem