Updated info on Houston Banks 2021

I am a student at a texas target (rice/UT) and will be targeting Houston for SA 2022. As COVID-19 has changed the landscape for Energy IB considerably (Canadian banks downsizing, RX-focused banks doing well, etc.) I was wondering if people couple provides a better view on the following banks in Houston:

Evercore 

Jefferies

TPH

Citi

GS

Barclays

Input about deal flow, pay, and intern class sizes would be very much appreciated from people currently in Energy IB.

Despite strong deal flow, I have heard that hours are generally not bad. I don't know if this is still true as they have gotten larger mandates

Most Helpful

I will bite

Evercore: Great brand name and culture. Have done a few good deals recently (Equinor Bakken divestiture, QEP / FANG merger) and been active in the restructuring space. Not too sure on pay but the firm in general pays very well so I am sure the Houston office is in line (but probably slightly below New York). Holistically, I would say Evercore, TPH and Moelis are the best places to be in Houston right now.

Jefferies: Probably have the highest ceiling of all the shops here and may be the best spot if you are interested in being in energy long term. The downside is that the current state of affairs is pretty brutal. Really sweaty, challenging culture and pay that does not compensate for the suffering (imo). That being said, they have been the best energy shop over the past 5 years so I could see them returning to glory if the space ever recovers (BIG if).

TPH: I have heard nothing but great things about TPH. PWP / TPH absolutely killed the RX game and they have had solid M&A deal flow the past 2 years in both the upstream and midstream space. I think pay is above everyone on this list besides maybe Evercore.

Citi: Do not know a ton about this group but have been decently active in past few years. They advised WPX on their merger with Devon so I guess things cannot be too bad.