JP Morgan Chase Vs Capital One Commercial Banking Summer 2020

Hello All! It's my first time on the site. I've been a long-time reader. I have received two internship offers from two commercial banks.

My first offer is from Jp Morgan Chase in their Middle Market Banking and Specialized Industries. This program would most likely be in the city of Chicago. They do a lot of Cash Flow Lending for Working Capital Finance. Full time I've heard they pay 72k-75k plus bonus. It is a 3-year analyst program where you do rotations through Underwriting, RM, and Treasury Services. They are definitely a leading bank in commercial banking.

My second offer is from Capital One. From my research online they pay about the same but the work would be more exciting as I could do rotations the Commercial Real Estate, Capital Markets, Corporate Client Banking. They are not as big as JPM by any means but the work would be more exciting. The downside is they can't guarantee me that I will be in Chicago. I believe the bonuses at Capital one might be bigger because of the different groups.

I hope you guys can shed some perspective on this.

Most Helpful

Can't speak for Capital One, but I have quite a few friends within MMBSI at JPM. Have heard good things all around and the JPM brand certainly is a huge plus (could be biased as I am a JPM employee). Comp seems about right and hours to my knowledge are 40ish on average (but have heard from a colleague in another city that there are some later nights when it gets busy). Still going to give you a great work life balance.