Graduating december 2025 or may 2026, not a single internship, how done am I..?

Quick context: Finance major from a decent 4 year public school, 3.5 GPA, no internship after freshman year, no internship after sophomore either bc I decided to be an exchange student at a top 20 European uni. By the time my semester ends it'll be mid end June and thats too late to join. Externship experience.... not sure if anybody cares for that though. Diversity and yes I've been applying like a madwoman for summer 2025 roles.

Most Helpful

You're eligible for SA25 either way which is recruiting right now... no internships is not great. You could have done even just a short off-cycle internship at school. Also mid-June is definitely not too late, maybe for a BB but most sophomore internships are very small companies that will be flexible with your dates.

With 3.5 and zero internships, you should be targeting MM/regional banks. You're not competitive for BB/EB unless you can land something for this summer very quickly (and you're also late - diversity recruiting already happened).

Are you networking or just applying? Applying is essentially throwing your resume in a black hole, you need to network to get people to push you along in the process

Based on the most helpful WSO content, let's break down your situation and see how "done" you are or, more accurately, how you can leverage your experiences and position yourself for success:

1. Finance Major with a 3.5 GPA: You're in a good spot academically. A 3.5 GPA from a decent 4-year public school is competitive. It shows you have a solid understanding of your coursework and can handle the rigor of a finance program.