AN2 with 2025 PE Offer But No AN3 Offer

Hi All - I am a 2nd year analyst at an MM bank and I just received a Summer 2025 offer for an MM PE fund that I feel is the perfect fit for me (team, culture, and strategy)

The problem is that my bank is not offering 3rd year promotes to any of the 2nd year analysts (blaming the market conditions or some BS).

I really want to join this fund. Can you fellow monkeys give me advice on what I can do to best position myself? I have thought about a few strategies but if anyone on this forum has experience going through this, would love to hear how you tackled it

1. Ask to join one of their port co for 1 year

2. Ask them if there is any chance they can let me start Summer 2024

3. Beg my current bank to give me a 3rd year

4. Lateral to a different bank and then end up at the fund

Also, should I negotiate this directly with the fund or talk to them through the head hunter?

Ah, the classic conundrum of securing a dream offer but facing a timing mismatch! Based on the most helpful WSO content, let's swing through your options like a pro navigating the jungle of finance career moves.

1. Joining a Portfolio Company (Port Co) for 1 Year: This is a strategic move that could serve you well. It offers you the opportunity to gain direct operational experience within an industry or sector relevant to your future PE fund. This experience can be invaluable, making you a more attractive candidate not just for the PE fund you have an offer with but also in the broader PE industry. It shows adaptability and a willingness to dive deep into the operational side, which is a significant part of PE work.