Promote from $500k to literally $0 - what do those who have been through a RE downturn recommend?

Background: I work at a small developer in a high cost of life city, I have circa 5 years of experience and am in an investment role. We develop commercial space, traditionally in JV's with PE funds and have roughly 20 deals (circa $2b). We put in 5% - 10% equity and have a different promote structure on each deal. Roughly speaking we get 10% over a 10% and 20% over a 15%. We aren't a brand name yet as we are a relatively new firm but we have managed to get some tier 1 PE capital / high profile deals so there's lots of momentum. I am getting great experience across investment / AM and Dev in my role and the people at the top of the company are excellent.  

Our pay structure is market base + 25% bonus + 3-4% of promote in the deals we work on. Up until a year ago, things were looking pretty good - my promote was valued at roughly $500k and looked pretty promising. Now with interest rates, valuations, construction costs and some tax changes in our markets I would value the promote at $0k if being honest. I wouldn't even say that any of our deals are underperforming business plan wise - it's mostly just due to massive shifts in valuation yields (we own a lot of offices) and interest rates (fully unhedged on most deals). 

I would love to hear from those who have been through similar downturns in the past:

• How did you make decisions about staying at / leaving your firm in moments when promote / LTIP looked like it was out of the money? Did it pay off? 
  • Would it be obtuse to try to renegotiate my comp structure given how far out of the money our promote is? 

Thanks! 

A promote is a bonus. You get a bonus for outperforming, it's not a promise of x dollars.

What exactly did you think a promote was?

"Here you go kiddo, I've made no money but have 500k because I'm feeling generous"