Will I pay back 300k in Columbia tuition?

I'm an international student looking to break into investment banking in the US who recently got admitted into Columbia for bachelors with no aid at all ($340k tuition). My (thankfully well-off) parents will loan me this. I ran my back-of-the-napkin math and if I do indeed break into bulge bracket and go through the normal salary progression, while eating ramen and cutting on alcohol - I'll probably be able to pay it back in 5 years. Is this right? Should I do this? Will I hate my life?

I also got admitted into a good non-target university in Minneapolis, MN for a full scholarship so I'm considering going there and making another (better) shot at Ivies next year aiming for full aid (since I got waitlised by 3 Ivies so I kinda have a chance next year). What should I do?

• been a long-time lurker here, this place is truly life-changing.

columbia student here, feel free to pm if u have any questions in your decision process

Most Helpful

If you put in the work you’ll have good opportunities from both schools, that being said, your likelihood to end up in a good shop is a fair bit higher at Columbia. The things Columbia will give you is:

1) more chances to screw up: it is a filter that you got into an ivy. If you screw up a bit (mess up a class, etc) firms will cut you some slack. 
2) more on campus opportunities: top firms will target Columbia, that is a big opportunity 

3) more alumni and networking (you are in nyc)

4) similar to #2, some opportunities that just won’t be available at other places. Not just on campus vs not, but places that will only look at certain schools 

With that, the things are to consider:

1) what school do you like more or think you’ll fit in at? The people, culture, curriculum, location, etc is super important to your happiness. If you aren’t happy, it’s going to be a tough 4 years. It’s also much harder to grind through the work if you aren’t happy