2019 Deloitte S&O Salary/Compensation - Correct Expectation

Hi All,

Recently I was given an offer from Deloitte S&O for a consultant position. I have almost 5 years of indutstry experience (non-consulting) and an MBA from IE Business School in Madrid Spain.

The offer I was giving was between 115-120K. I thought this was good from reviewing the salaries on Glassdoor. However, viewing some of the threads here and on ManagementConsulted, I saw numbers in 140K.

I reset my range to Deloitte to be 132-140K based on this information. They said that meeting this range was "impossible," even though I feel I've gotten these numbers from credible sources.

My question is, what should I believe? Is 115-120K a real lowball offer, or do the 140K + numbers I see online apply to only certain schools? IE Business School was ranked #8 Global by the FT in 2017, so I believe it is a well reputable school. Any thoughts would be appreciated!

What's your BATNA? Yes, they are trying to low ball your offer, but if they already told you it's impossible then your next option is to threaten to walk away, which it sounds like you're not willing to do.

Bluffing a job offer is not a good idea, so unless you're willing to walk, you're kinda stuck.

tbf; you're basically going to be on par with their internal promotions and experienced hires so it's not like you're getting completely screwed, you're just getting a little screwed.

If you're planning on staying in consulting then you will catch up on your manager promotion in a few years.

Most Helpful

Not really any alternatives right now. I could stay in my current role, which is more technical. However the growth prospects aren't as clear. Plus I'm not sure if I have as clear of a path to move into consulting, especially for a Deloitte or MBB. (I come from a Chemical Engineering background and my whole career has been spent in Petrochem.)