Doctor in need of advice - 2021 internships

Hi,

First things first, I'd like to thank all WSO users/contributors - really found it to be a helpful resource for some questions I had. 

I recently graduated from med school in a western European country and have always been interested in business and finance, which is why I decided to enter the CFA program during med school and passed CFA exam level 1 and 2 in my last 2 years of med school.

Being that I'm 24 yo, I feel that I may be too young to know exactly what field I want to work in for the next 40 years and I decided not to enter residency directly and rather do internships in finance. While I enjoy investing and doing financial analysis, I really enjoy business strategy and I think an IBD internship may be more interesting than an ER internship. Given that I'm a doctor and have been following the biopharmaceutical space for some years now, I'm particularly interested in healthcare banking.

I was wondering if getting an internship in IB at BBs/EBs was doable, given that I have no prior experience in finance. Which banks are the top players in healthcare banking in Europe?

I've researched M&A activity in the biopharmaceutical space from 2019 to now and what I seem to notice is that JPM/GS/BAML and Lazard/Centerview/Evercore are the most active players in M&A advisory. But what I couldn't find was which office was involved in these mergers. Considering that I only have an intermediate level in German, I guess FFM and Zürich are not within reach. However, I'm fluent in French. 

Thanks a lot for your help

Comments (17)

• Prospect in IB-M&A
Oct 3, 2020 - 6:29am